CITY OF NEW ORLEANS



DEPARTMENT OF CITY CIVIL SERVICE SUITE 900 – 1340 POYDRAS ST. NEW ORLEANS LA 70112 (504) 658-3500 FAX NO. (504) 658-3598 CITY CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION
BRITTNEY RICHARDSON, CHAIRPERSON
JOHN H. KORN, VICE-CHAIRPERSON
MARK SURPRENANT
RUTH WHITE DAVIS
ANDREW MONTEVERDE

AMY TREPAGNIER DIRECTOR OF PERSONNEL

Thursday, February 1, 2024

Mr. Devin Hall

Re:

Devin Hall VS.

Recreation Department Docket Number: 9455

Dear Mr. Hall:

Attached is the action of the Civil Service Commission at the Commission's meeting on Friday, 1/19/2024.

Yours very truly,

Doddie K. Smith

Chief, Management Services Division

Doddie K. Smith

CC:

Larry Barabino

James M. Roquemore

file

CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION CITY OF NEW ORLEANS

DEVIN HALL, Appellant

v.

Docket No. 9455

RECREATION DEPARTMENT, Appointing Authority

ORDER

In an amended decision issued November 15, 2023, the Commission ordered the Department of Recreation to reinstate Mr. Hall and to reimburse him for lost wages from April 20, 2023, to the date of the order. The Commission has granted Mr. Hall's motion to appeal this decision. Because this appeal is devolutive, the parties must comply with the Commission's judgment.

Mr. Hall requested to address the Commission on the basis that the calculation of his backpay by the Department of Recreation is incorrect. The Commission heard Mr. Hall's argument at its January 19, 2024, regular meeting. Counsel for the Department of Recreation agreed to provide the record of the calculation of backpay by the Department of Recreation to the Commission and Mr. Hall by January 29, 2024. Mr. Hall can then provide to the Commission the basis for his statements that the calculation of backpay is in error. The Commission defers consideration of this matter to its February 9, 2024, regular meeting, following the receipt of the additional documents and information.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this the 1st day of February , 2024.

Brittney Richardson (Jan 31, 2024 13:18 CST)

BRITTNEY RICHARDSON, CHAIRPERSON

<u>J H Korn</u> J H Korn (Jan 30, 2024 20:36 CST)

JOHN KORN, VICE-CHAIRPERSON

Andrew Menteverde (Jan 29, 2024 17:32 CST)

ANDREW MONTEVERDE, COMMISSIONER