Navigation Search Map (504) 658-4000

Translate this page

The City of New Orleans

Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu

30th Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Celebration

Calendar of Events

Thursday, Jan.14, 2016

New Orleans Public Library Celebration*
Location: New Orleans Public Library Main Branch, 219 Loyola Ave.
Time: 12:00 pm 

United Teachers of N.O. Choral Concert
Location: Franklin Avenue Baptist Church, 2515 Franklin Ave.
Time: 6:00 pm

MLK Gospel Tribute*
Location: Dillard University’s Lawless Memorial Chapel
Time: 6:30 pm 




Friday, January 15, 2016

R.E.A.L. March
Location: Begins at A. L. Davis Park and ends at MLK Monument on MLK Blvd. & S. Claiborne Ave.
Time: 10:00 am

Wreath Laying Ceremony
Location: MLK Monument on MLK Blvd. & S. Claiborne Ave.
Time: 11:00 am

Saturday, January 16, 2016

Rev. Avery C. Alexander Social Action Forum
Location: Dryades YMCA, 2220 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd.
Time: 9:00 am – 1:00 pm

Remembering the Dream, Hosted by Goodwork Network*
Location: Roux Carre 2000 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd. 
Time: 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm


Sunday, January 17, 2016

Let’s Clean Up The Mess
Location: Oretha Castle Haley (From Calliope to Phillip St.)
Time: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

MLK Memorial Service
Location: Austerlitz Baptist Church, 819 Austerlitz St. New Orleans
Time: 3:00 pm

Monday, January 18, 2016

30th Annual MLK DAY Opening Program
Location: City Hall
Time: 9:00 am

MLK Memorial March
Location: (Begins at City Hall and ends at MLK Monument on MLK Blvd. & S. Claiborne Ave.)
Time: 10:00 am

Martin Luther King Community Block Party*
Location: Oretha Castle Haley (From Calliope to Phillip St.)
Time: 12:00 pm – 4:00 pm

30th Annual Memorial MLK March

View 2016 MLK Memorial March Route

Contact Sherlyn Harris at 504-658-4200 for more information. 

New Orleans Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday Planning Commission

The Honorable Mitchell J. Landrieu 
Mayor, City of New Orleans

Rev. Norwood Thompson, Jr.

Ms. Avis M. Brock
Rev. Abraham McFarland
Mr. Bertrand Butler
Mrs. Wynette Thompson
Mrs. Bobbie Cornish-Brent
Ms. Myrtis Johnson,
Rev. Marie Galatis-Ortiz
Rev.  Clarence Beckham
Rev. Helena Wright-Butler
Mr. Bertrand Butler
Mr. Glenis M. Scott, Sr
Mr. Charlie Johnson
Mrs. Barbara Lacen-Keller
Mr. Happy Johnson
Ms. Candance Quarels
Dr. Levon LeBan
Elder Clarence Beckham
Mr. Johnathan Lewis
Mr. Jon Johnson
Mr. Robert Bachman
Mr. Richard V. Keller, Sr.
Ms. Bobbie Cornish
Rev. Warren Ray, Jr.
Ms. Janet Tobias
Dr. Leon Tilton, Jr.
Evangelist Linda Campbell
Rev. Jason Hayes
Ms. Cherise Harrison-Nelson
Ms. Josie LaCour
Deputy Mayor Judy Reese Morse
Derrick Francis
Sheryln Harris


(*) Notes non-city sponosored events. 

Add to Twitter Add to Facebook Add to LinkedIn Add to Google Bookmarks Add to Reddit

Last updated: 8/9/2017 1:22:04 PM

Was this page helpful?


 Security code