Navigation Search Map (504) 658-4000

Translate this page

The City of New Orleans

Mayor Mitchell J. Landrieu

Homeless Services Working Group

The Homeless Services Working Group will:

  • Review all aspects of homeless services in the City of New Orleans;
  • Review the planning processes, policies, and implementation strategies undertaken by homeless service providers as part of the Continuum of Care;
  • Review information about national best practices for homeless services and recommendations that other organizations may submit to the Working Group;
  • Make final recommendations to the Mayor regarding a long-term strategic plan for homeless services in Orleans Parish.

The Group – comprised of a cross-section of the community representing the business, criminal justice, health care, higher education, faith-based, government, non-profit, neighborhood, and philanthropic sectors – will work cooperatively with federal and state partners in order to create outcome-driven approaches based on national best practices in order to best serve the needs of the homeless and the City. Judge Jay Zainey and Jade Brown-Russell will lead the 48-member group as co-chairs.

Zainey is a federal judge for the United States District Group for the Eastern District of Louisiana. He joined the Court in 2002 after being nominated by President George W. Bush. A Louisiana native, Zainey holds a Bachelor’s degree from the University of New Orleans and a Juris Doctor degree from Louisiana State University. He also served in the U.S. Air Force Reserve from 1970-1976. In 2004, Judge Zainey founded Project H.E.L.P, which now provides free legal services to the homeless in New Orleans and 15 other cities.

Brown-Russell is an associate with Harrah’s Corporate Securities, Mergers, and Acquisitions Practice Team in the Transactions and Corporate Advisory Services Group. She earned her Juris Doctor cum laude from Southern University Law Center. Brown-Russell is the chair of the Downtown Development District and a board member of UNITY, which has worked to serve the homeless population in New Orleans.

Other members include:

  • Ivye Allen
  • Dottie Belletto
  • Adena Boris
  • Cheryl Breaux
  • District Attorney Leon Cannizzaro
  • Tim Carpenter
  • Julie Catellier
  • Rebecca Chaisson
  • Dooky Chase, III
  • Henry Coaxum
  • Rabbi Ed Cohn
  • Liza Cowan
  • David Crosby
  • Dr. Sarah DeLand
  • Lucas Diaz
  • Dr. Peter DeBlieux
  • Dr. Rochelle Head Dunham
  • Laverne Dunn
  • Dr. Don Erwin
  • Mike Griffin
  • Amanda Guma
  • Councilmember Stacy Head
  • Jeff Hebert
  • Bill Hines
  • Reverend Henry Hudson
  • Judge Calvin Johnson
  • Vicki Judice
  • Martha Kegel
  • Kathy Laborde
  • Ellen Lee
  • Anthony Love
  • Councilmember Cynthia Hedge-Morrell
  • Andreanecia Morris
  • Debra Morton
  • Lynn Overmann
  • Angela Patterson
  • Aimee Quirk
  • Mark Romig
  • NOPD Superintendent Ronal Serpas
  • B.B. St. Roman
  • Dr. Toya Barnes-Teamer
  • Laurie Toups
  • Laura Tuggle
  • Kurt Weigle
  • Dr. Andrew Williams
  • Luis Zervigon

Presentations of the Homeless Services Working Group

Add to Twitter Add to Facebook Add to LinkedIn Add to Google Bookmarks Add to Reddit

Last updated: 8/16/2012 9:47:47 AM

Was this page helpful?


 Security code