Sanford "Sandy" Krasnoff New Orleans Criminal Justice Council Meeting

Meeting Minutes

Wednesday, January 25th, 2023 1:00 pm- 3:00 pm

I. Call to Order (1:04pm)

The meeting was called to order by Commissioner Stevens.

II. Roll Call (1:05pm)

Interim Chief District Defender Sierra Thompson	Public Defender	Present
Ms. Nikita White	State Office of Juvenile Justice	Present
Chief Judge Ranord Darensburg	Juvenile Court	Present
Judge Paul Sens	Municipal and Traffic Court	Not Present
Superintendent Michelle Woodfork	NOPD	Present
Councilmember Leslie Harris	City Council	Designee Present Alison Poort
Jennifer Greer	Probation and Parole	Present
Sheriff Susan Hutson	Sheriff	Designee Present Pearlina Thomas
Chief Judge Robin Pittman	Criminal District Court	Present
Donesia Turner	City Attorney	Present
Dr. Dwight McKenna	Coroner	Designee Present Brian Lapeyrolerie
Gilbert Montaño	Chief Administrator	Designee Present Shelbi Flynn
Vice President Helena Moreno	City Council	Designee Present Sayde Finkel
Darren Lombard	Clerk of Court	Not Present
Councilmember Oliver Thomas	City Council	Designee Present Wesley Bishop
Tenisha Stevens	Mayor's Office	Present
Jason Williams	District Attorney	Designee Present Keith Lampkin
Asya Howlette	Office of Youth and Families	Designee Present Jack Shaevitz

III. Opening Remarks (1:07pm)

Commissioner Stevens welcomed the members of the Criminal Justice Council and expressed her excitement for the new year. Commissioner Stevens also clarified that community members have not been

appointed to the Criminal Justice Council and the appointment process will begin when a Governmental Affairs Committee meeting takes place in the new year. Commissioner Stevens also asked the councilmembers to consider how to leverage the Council's posture as the highest advisory body on criminal justice issues in Orleans parish and to come prepared to discuss during the next meeting.

IV. Consideration & Approval of the Minutes from December 15th, 2022 (1:13pm)

Commissioner Stevens asked the councilmembers if there were any corrections to the minutes for the meeting of December 15th, 2021. Seeing there were no corrections, a motion was sought for the adoption of the minutes as written. Keith Lampkin, designee for District Attorney Jason Williams, made a motion for the adoption of the minutes. The motion was seconded by Ms. Pearlina Thomas, designee for Sheriff Susan Hutson, and approved by voice vote.

V. Grant Matters (1:16pm)

A. FY 2020 Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Grant Funding - \$126,054

The Council received two proposals submitted by two organizations. The organizations were invited to present at a rate of three minutes per organization. Jenny Alber, OCJC Grants Director, presented the Office's staff recommendations, which were to allocate 50% of the funding, or \$63,027, to each agency.

A motion to allocate in accordance with staff recommendations was made by Pearlina Thomas, designee for Sheriff Susan Hutson, and seconded by Keith Lampkin, designee for District Attorney Jason Williams. The motion was adopted by roll call vote with eleven yea votes.

B. FY 2022 Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) Grant Funding - \$2,403,130

The Council received eighteen proposals submitted by fifteen organizations totaling over \$3,366,422, leaving a funding gap of \$963,312. Four agencies represented on the Council had submitted proposals and were required to abstain from the vote on the allocation. These were Juvenile Court, the District Attorney, Criminal District Court and the Sheriff's Office. Presentations were made by representatives of the submitting agencies at a rate of three minutes per agency. Jenny Alber, OCJC Grants Director, presented the Office's staff recommendations. The recommendation focused cuts on travel, supplies, and other indirect costs and prioritizing money for retaining existing staff.

Following a brief discussion among the council members a motion was made to adopt the staff recommendations to be submitted to LCLE. Moved by Brian Laperyolerie, designee for Dr. Dwight McKenna, and seconded by Alison Poort, designee for Councilmember Lesli Harris, the motion was passed by roll call vote with eleven yea votes and four abstentions by agencies that had submitted proposals.

VI. Councilmember Updates (2:50)

No councilmember updates were advanced.

VII. Community Updates (2:51)

No community updates were advanced.

VIII. Closing Remarks & Adjournment (2:53)

Commissioner Stevens thanked the members for their attention and wished them a happy Mardi Gras. A motion to adjourn the meeting was sought, so moved by Pearlina Thomas, designee for Sheriff Susan Hutson, and approved by voice vote.